Updates + Winter Series racing

On 11 June the club held the AGM and celebrated the trophy winners for the past season. While the winners of various trophies had been announced throughout the year, there were a few key awards that are not announced until the presentation. These awards were:

Most Improved – Awarded to Free for All sailed by John Jackson, Ollie Watson and Cooper Arhanic from Brownseas Scouts. Without a doubt deserved winners of this trophy.

Best performing Flying Fifteen – This trophy is awarded to the best performing Flying Fifteen, calculated over all races in the season. Consistent results and high performance is key to winning this award. This years winner’s are Neil Lestor and Graeme Dobson on Ffunnily Enuff.

Summer Series Trophy – This event is run over 8 races scattered through the seasons calendar, the winner calculated from the best aggregate points from these races. The winner of this years Summer Series Trophy is Ffunnily Enuff – Neil Lestor and Graeme Dobson.

Club Championship Trophy – The trophy awarded to the team that has the best aggregate points over a series of 8 races held throughout the season. This year’s Club Champions, only a single point ahead of second place, is SNAffU – Greg Williamson and Chris Howell.

While the summer sailing season for the year has ended, the short Winter sailing season begins with 5 race days making up the Winter Series. This is an informal series of races spread from June through to August and is great for preparing for the new season. The first race day for the Winter series is this coming Sunday 25 June, with the first start scheduled for 13:00.